Drug Crimes

Home » Areas of Practice » Drug Crimes

Controlled substance or Possession of Marijuana?  CALL LEGRANDE LAW – FREE CONSULTATION!

A HOUSTON LAWYER FOR DRUG CRIMES

Drug Crimes in Texas

Possession

Possession of marijuana (POM), possession of a controlled substance (PCS), or possession with intent to manufacture, deliver or sell – any type of drug possession is a serious offense. To convict someone of drug possession requires proof beyond a reasonable doubt, that the accused “intentionally and knowingly,” had “actual care, custody, control, or management” of the controlled substance (or marijuana) they are accused of possessing.

To effectively fight controlled substance (or marijuana) possession cases requires a painstaking analysis to determine what defenses exist and determine whether evidence can be suppressed because the stop, search, or arrest was unconstitutional. 

Criminal defense attorney Tristan LeGrande has a track record of winning drug cases.  Tristan LeGrande utilizes the full gambit of legal tactics to secure a dismissal, reduction in charges, or a Not Guilty verdict at trial.  We will never bully you into pleading Guilty or taking a deal you are uncomfortable with.  

LOCKED UP?

CALL LEGRANDE LAW!

281-684-3500

Felony drug Possession

Marijuana possession over four ounces, possession of “controlled substances,” including: cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine, ecstasy (MDMA), oxycontin; or, charges of “manufacture,” “delivery,” “sale,” or “possession with intent to deliver.”  

Felony drug possession is particularly serious, and punishments for possession of a controlled substance are substantial under the Texas Health and Safety Code.  Often the manner in which the police found the drugs can be fought in court and even suppressed, resulting in a dismissal of the charges against you.  

Hire Houston drug attorney Tristan LeGrande! 

Don’t take a deal until you talk to a REAL HOUSTON DRUG LAWYER!  RESULTS MATTER!

CALL LEGRANDE LAW NOW!

281-684-3500


 MARIJUANA

  • Two ounces or less: Class B Misdemeanor (up to 6mo county jail)*
  • 4 ounces or less but more than 2 ounces: Class A misdemeanor (up to 1Y county jail)
  • 5 pounds or less but more than 4 ounces:  State Jail Felony (6mo – 2Y state jail)
  • 50 pounds or less but more than 5 pounds: 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 2,000 pounds or less but more than 50 pounds: 2nd Degree Felony (2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • More than 2,000 pounds: 5 to 99 years, or life

Harris County Misdemeanor Marijuana Diversion Program: If law enforcement in Harris County finds you in possession of less than 4 ounces of marijuana, you will now be given the option to take a 4-hour class on cognitive decision making instead of going to jail. The class costs $150.  The marijuana will be seized and logged into evidence, if you do not complete the class, the charges will be filed as usual.  More detailed information about the program can be found at the Harris County District Attorney’s website.**

**HOUSTON CHRONICLE ARTICLE detailing how *Some* municipalities in Harris County, including Seabrook, Nassau Bay, Friendswood, Morgans Point and Lakeview are refusing to follow the Marijuana Diversion Program, and instead are charging those caught with small amounts of marijuana with possession of drug Paraphernalia.  Attorney Tristan LeGrande is quoted regarding Seabrook prosecutor Robert C. Richter‘s insistance that any container you hold marijuana in is drug paraphernalia and their city does not have to follow the directives of the Harris County District Attorney.  READ THE ARTICLE – HERE – 


 CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES

Controlled Substances are regulated in Section 481 of the Texas Health and Safety Code.  This statute was a result of the enactment of the Texas Controlled Substance Act.

Punishments for controlled substance offenses are divided into Penalty Groups.  You can be prosecuted for possession of ANY DETECTABLE AMOUNT.

It is also illegal to possess prescription medications in any penalty group unless the medication is acquired with a valid prescription.  (Click here to see the full text of the Health & Safety Code describing what substances are controlled substances under Texas Law).

Some Counties file charges for possession of “trace” amount of a controlled substance, even if the quantity cannot be determined (the controlled substance cannot be weighed).

Punishments are enhanced if you are charged with intent to manufacture, deliver, or sell.


** Amounts are measured by aggregate weight including adulterants or dilutants. **

* Punishments below are Jail/Prison time only; see Texas Penal Code for a list of possible fines*


PENALTY GROUP 1: Methamphetamine, cocaine, heroin, oxycontin (AKA oxy/roxy), fentanyl.

“PCS PG1” on court paperwork

  • Less than one gram: State Jail Felony (6mo – 2Y state jail).
  • 1 to 4 grams: 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 4 to 200 grams: 2nd Degree Felony ( 2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • 200 to 400 grams: 1st Degree Felony (5 – 99Y TDCJ)
  • More than 400 grams: 10 to 99 years, or life

PENALTY GROUP 1-A Lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD).  

“PCS PG1-A” on court paperwork

  • Fewer than 20 abuse units (“hits”): State Jail Felony (6mo – 2Y state jail)
  • 20 to 80 abuse units (“hits”): 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 80 to 4000 abuse units (“hits”): 2nd Degree Felony (2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • 4000 to 8000 abuse units (aka”hits”): 1st Degree Felony (5 – 99Y TDCJ)
  • Over 8000 abuse units (aka”hits”): 15 to 99 years, or life

PENALTY GROUP 2 Hallucinogenics Ecstasy (3, 4-methylenedioxy-N-methyl amphetamine, MDMA), psilolcybin (mushrooms), mephedrone (bath salts); concentrated THC (Tetrahydrocannabinol; AKA wax/shatter/honey oil/dabs).

“PCS PG2” on court paperwork

  • Less than one gram: State Jail Felony (6mo – 2Y state jail)
  • 1 to 4 grams: 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 4 to 400 grams: 2nd Degree Felony (2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • More than 400 grams: 10 to 99 yrs or life
  • CASES FILED 9/1/15 UNTIL 9/1/17 – If FDA Approved as medication, it’s a Class B Misdemeanor. (Ie. Adderall & Vyvanse).  AFTER 9/1/17 it is a FELONY AGAIN.

Houston Chronicle article regarding law change; Attorney Tristan LeGrande is quoted HERE


PENALTY GROUP 2-A Synthetic cannabinoids (commonly known as “k2,” Kush, incense).

PCS PG2-A” on court paperwork

  • 2 ounces or less: Class B Misdemeanor (up to 6mo county jail)
  • 4 ounces or less but more than 2 ounces: Class A Misdemeanor (up to 1Y county jail)
  • 5 pounds or less but more than 4 ounces: State Jail Felony (6mo – 2Y state jail)
  • 50 pounds or less but more than 5 pounds: 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 2,000 pounds or less but more than 50 pounds: 2nd Degree Felony (2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • More than 2,000 pounds: 1st degree felony ( 5 – 99Y TDCJ)

PENALTY GROUP 3 – prescription painkillers, sedatives and anti-anxiety medications, such as:

BenzodiazepinesXanax (alprazolam), Klonopin (clonazepam), valium (diazepam)

Sleeping aidesAmbien (zolpidem)

Painkillers; Vicodin / Norco / Lortab (hydrocodone)

SteroidsNandrolone, Equipose (boldenone), Stanozolol 

StimulantsRitalin (Methylphenidate)

“PCS PG3” on court paperwork

  • Less than 28 grams: Class A Misdemeanor (up to 1Y county jail)
  • 28 to 200 grams: 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 200 to 400 grams: 2nd Degree Felony (2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • More than 400 grams: 1st Degree Felony (5 – 99Y TDCJ)

PENALTY GROUP 4 Codeine solutions (“syrup” “purple” or “lean”).

“PCS PG4” on court paperwork

  • Less than 28 grams: Class A Misdemeanor (up to 1Y county jail)
  • 28 to 200 grams: 3rd Degree Felony (2 – 10Y TDCJ)
  • 200 to 400 grams: 2nd Degree Felony (2 – 20Y TDCJ)
  • More than 400 grams: 1st Degree Felony (5 – 99Y TDCJ)

** Remember, entire solution is weighed, not just the active ingredient. **


Possession of any amount of a controlled substance from any of the above mentioned penalty groups is a SERIOUS matter and should be dealt with accordingly.

REMEMBER -Being accused of possession of marijuana or possession of a controlled substance does not mean you have no options; at LeGrande Law we implement the full array of defense tactics and strategies to tenaciously defend our clients.  Our constant aim is a dismissal, evidence suppression, or not guilty at trial.


Possession of a Dangerous Drug

This is a charge for possession of a prescription drug not listed in other Penalty Groups, but still regarded as a “controlled” substance that is illegal to possess without a prescription.  Possession of any amount of this type of substance is a Class A Misdemeanor.


 IF CHARGED WITH A DRUG OFFENSE

YOU NEED A TOUGH DEFENSE ATTORNEY

Our criminal defense law firm takes all drug possession cases very seriously, whether it is a case of misdemeanor possession of marijuana, or a more serious felony charge, we will zealously defend your case.

 

It is very important that you contact our criminal defense law firm immediately so that we can take proactive steps to fight the drug crimes allegation you will have to face in the court of law.  Attorney Tristan LeGrande of LeGrande Law has experience handling all types of drug possession cases – call today to discuss your case!

Drug Crimes | Houston Criminal Defense Attorney

CLIENT REVIEWS OF LEGRANDE LAW **HERE**

http://www.houstondrugattorney.net